Zhan, Nian, Lian, Sui: Four Key Skills for Pushing Hands and Fighting

By Zhang Yun


There are four basic Taiji Quan push hands and fighting skills – Zhan, Nian, Lian, and Sui. They are also called four basic Nei Jin – internal trained force. Without use these skills, one is not doing Taiji Quan. So that people usually say that these four skills are the foundation of all Taiji Quan techniques. They should be included in everywhere. They are the most important characteristics of Taiji Quan. They show the biggest difference between Taiji Quan and other martial arts style. It is why people always use them to express Taiji Quan. They are used as the brief definition of Taiji Quan. Continue reading

Traditional Yang Style Tai Chi Chuan 103 Movement Hand Form. Section I

Performed by Master Yang Jun, 6th Generation descendant of the creator of Yang Style Tai Chi Chuan

1. Preparation Form
2. Beginning
3. Grasp the Bird’s tail
4. Single whip
5. Raise Hands and Step Forward
6. White Crane Spreads its Wings
7. Left Brush Knee and Push
8. Hand Strums the Lute
9. Left Brush Knee and Push
10. Right Brush Knee and Push
11. Left Brush Knee and Push
12. Hand Strums the Lute
13. Left Brush Knee and Push
14. Step forward, Parry Block and Punch
15. Apparent Close Up
16. Cross Hands